Zurich as a research and university center

Zurich is of global importance as a research and university center. Apart from the major cantonal institutions – the University of Zurich and the Zürcher Fachhochschule – the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, the ETH Zurich, makes a major contribution to our reputation. Individual schools, departments and institutes enjoy an international reputation and our institutions always rank well internationally.

Other scientific institutions with a special profile also belong to Zurich as a research and university center: the research institutions of the ETH, namely the EAWAG, the EMPA, the WSL and the PSI; but also,e.g. the Swiss federal government's agricultural research organisation in Wädenswil (Agroscope). As far as Zurich as a research center is concerned, there are also other research institutions such as the Zentralbibliothek (central library) and the Sozialarchiv (social archives).

Private companies also make a considerable contribution to Zurich's attractiveness as a research and university center such as the IBM Research Laboratory in Rüschlikon, Sulzer Innotec in Winterthur and the European research and development center set up in Zurich by Google.

Sciences et hautes écoles de Zurich

Le domaine des sciences et les hautes écoles de Zurich revêtent une importance globale. Outre les grandes institutions cantonales que sont l'Université de Zurich et la Haute Ecole spécialisée de Zurich, l'Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Zurich contribue elle aussi à cette bonne réputation. Certaines facultés, départements et instituts jouissent d'une renommée mondiale ! Et dans les classements internationaux, nos institutions sont toujours bien positionnées !

Le domaine des sciences et des hautes écoles de Zurich comprend d'autres établissements scientifiques qui ont un profil particulier : les instituts de recherche du domaine de l'Ecole polytechnique fédérale, à savoir le EAWAG (Institut fédéral pour l'aménagement, l'épuration et la protection des eaux), le EMPA (Laboratoire fédéral d'essai des matériaux et de recherches), le WSL (Institut fédéral de recherches sur la forêt, la neige et le paysage) et le PSI (Institut Paul Scherrer); mais aussi par exemple l'Institut fédéral de recherche agricole à Wädenswil (Agroscope). Pour le pôle de recherche de Zurich, d'autres institutions scientifiques comme la Bibliothèque centrale et les Archives sociales revêtent une grande importance.

Des entreprises privées qui, pour certaines, disposent d'un potentiel scientifique extraordinaire, y sont pour beaucoup dans l'intérêt porté aux sciences et aux hautes écoles de Zurich. Ces entreprises comptent par exemple l'Institut de recherche IBM à Rüschlikon, Sulzer Innotec à Winterthour ou le centre de recherche européen de Google à Zürich.