Zurich as a research and university center

Zurich is of global importance as a research and university center. Apart from the major cantonal institutions – the University of Zurich and the Zürcher Fachhochschule – the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, the ETH Zurich, makes a major contribution to our reputation. Individual schools, departments and institutes enjoy an international reputation and our institutions always rank well internationally.

Other scientific institutions with a special profile also belong to Zurich as a research and university center: the research institutions of the ETH, namely the EAWAG, the EMPA, the WSL and the PSI; but also,e.g. the Swiss federal government's agricultural research organisation in Wädenswil (Agroscope). As far as Zurich as a research center is concerned, there are also other research institutions such as the Zentralbibliothek (central library) and the Sozialarchiv (social archives).

Private companies also make a considerable contribution to Zurich's attractiveness as a research and university center such as the IBM Research Laboratory in Rüschlikon, Sulzer Innotec in Winterthur and the European research and development center set up in Zurich by Google.

Wissenschafts- und Hochschulplatz Zürich

Der Wissenschafts- und Hochschulplatz Zürich ist von globaler Bedeutung. Neben den grossen kantonalen Institutionen – der Universität Zürich und der Zürcher Fachhochschule – trägt insbesondere auch die ETH Zürich zum guten Renommee bei. Einzelne Fakultäten, Departemente und Institute geniessen Weltruf! Und in internationalen Rankings sind unsere Institutionen stets gut positioniert! Für den künftigen Innovationspark stellen die Zürcher Hochschulen einen Schlüsselfaktor dar.

Zum Wissenschafts- und Hochschulplatz Zürich gehören weitere wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen, die ein spezielles Profil haben: die Forschungsanstalten des ETH-Bereichs, namentlich die EAWAG, die EMPA, die WSL und das PSI; aber z. B. auch die landwirtschaftliche Forschungsanstalt des Bundes in Wädenswil (Agroscope). Für den Forschungsplatz Zürich sind auch weitere wissenschaftliche Institutionen wie die Zentralbibliothek und das Sozialarchiv von grosser Bedeutung.

Zur Attraktivität des Wissenschafts- und Hochschulplatzes Zürich tragen private Unternehmen, die teilweise über ein ausserordentliches wissenschaftliches Potential verfügen, massgeblich bei. Zu diesen Unternehmen gehören z. B. das IBM Forschungsinstitut in Rüschlikon, Sulzer Innotec in Winterthur oder das europäische Forschungszentrum von Google in Zürich.